Why You Keep Pulling the Same Tarot Card & How to Make it Stop

Asha Oya
3 min readNov 6, 2020

--

If you do tarot long enough, you’ve inevitably reached the point where the same card keeps popping up again and again. The first time it happens, you think, “Maybe it was just a coincidence.” The next couple times you think, “My deck is communicating with me!” and its awesome. The 10th time you think, “Why does the 3 of pentacles keep coming up?”. The 20th time, you think, “Yeah, yeah, tell me something I don’t know.”

Let’s go over some ways to prevent this from occurring.

1. Shuffle Thoroughly

We all know that person that just pulls their deck out of its box or bag and starts pulling cards. Its one of my pet peeves. For all I know, the last cards you pulled are just sitting there on top of the deck. Rule #1 is always shuffle your deck. It doesn’t matter how, as long as you do it well.

2. Interpret the Card Accurately

When I was first starting out, I would gravitate towards the most powerful and exciting cards in the spread. This meant that I wasn’t really giving much attention to the other cards, especially if they were obscure or negative. The card(s) seemed to come out of left field and not relate to the others, so I just wrote them off.

Those cards were the ones that kept popping up.

If your intuition is not giving you anything, use the book that came with the deck, read a tarot book, or do a quick search online.

When you do tarot, you are asking spirit to communicate with you. You’re not operating in a vacuum. Every message is important and to be respected. If you don’t understand a card’s message, the message will keep occurring until it is understood.

Speaking of which…

3. Do What the Card Says

Maybe the Death card keeps popping up because your job is a dead-end and you know it but you’re too afraid to quit and invest your time and energy into becoming a massage therapist like you always wanted.

Or quite possibly, you find yourself dating the same type of person over and over because your parents told you that you needed to be a certain way to get married. You know that their teachings are outdated but deep down you’re afraid they’re right.

You could even have experienced the literal death of your dog. You are still visiting Lucky’s grave 6 months later and can’t fathom ever getting another dog or not feeling crushing grief.

Every card has a message. Only you truly know what it means for you in your life.

If you keep pulling the same card over and over, there is still something that needs to be addressed. Whatever aspect of your life that card is reflecting is not resolved. Your guides, angels, or God are urgently trying to get you to deal with the situation so you can move on…to a better life…and new cards.

Should you do all of these steps and still find yourself pulling the Fool card, I can help. I provide Assisted Tarot Readings where I guide you through a reading for yourself, teaching you how to do it, and guiding you to understanding the meaning of the cards using your intuition. This allows me to see your process and determine what the cause is and what the solution may be. Contact me at inquiries@ashaoya.com to book.

Much love,

Asha

--

--

Asha Oya

I create content that inspires & educates you to be a better human! I help you become your best self! https://linktr.ee/asha.oya